The "Complete the Catch" rule

Discussion in 'Detroit Lions Blitz' started by Liongeezer, Sep 25, 2017.

  1. Murtyle American Destroyer

    It's a tall order because it doesn't exist. That's not how the rule works

    If he would have bobbled the ball you'd be right, but he didn't. Once he had control of the ball and the knee is down the play is over unless he drops the ball.
  2. Murtyle American Destroyer

    The timing thing I don't know about. I haven't been able to see a replay with the clock in frame.
  3. Liongeezer Ornery Old Fart

    Really, it does not work that way! I don't mean to be insulting, but apparently you can't read and think for yourself to dismiss the contradictions presented above so summarily. The NFL constantly makes ambiguous decisions that end up contradicting the rules, especially the "complete the catch rule", all the time during NFL games. Here is a good article that talks about this problem.

    https://www.theringer.com/nfl/2017/8/17/16162478/football-catch-rule-evolution-confusion

    Sure the Tate scenario is what the NFL ruled at this time, however, the next time depending on who they want to win the game, it will be rule it differently.

Share This Page